

f you're new to Ohio, you may not have thought about it yet, but you're going to need a new driver license, license plates and an Ohio title for your car.

Once you are an Ohio resident, you need to become an official Ohio driver, and register your vehicle within 30 days.

You are considered an Ohio resident once you:

- Take a job
- Sign a lease
- Buy a home
  - Enroll children in school

# How to Get a Driver License



Review the Digest of Motor Vehicle Laws to become familiar with the motor vehicle laws in Ohio. To obtain an Ohio Commercial Driver License (CDL), review the Ohio Commercial Driver Handbook

Go to any Driver License Exam Station to start the process. The list of locations is in the back of the Digest of Motor Vehicle Laws and also online at www.ohiobmv. com. No appointment is necessary, but be sure to check the station hours of operations. All Driver License Exam Stations are closed on Mondays.

A vision screening is required to convert your unexpired out-of-state driver license to an Ohio driver license. A vision screening and knowledge test are required to convert to an Ohio CDL. The driving test is usually waived for new residents who have an unexpired out-of-state license. The examiner may require testing for someone who may need a license restriction.

## New Residents Under 18

Before you can become licensed in Ohio, you must provide proof of six months prior driving experience. You must complete an affidavit that documents 50 hours of driving, of which 10 hours were at night. You must also show proof of meeting Ohio's Driver Education requirements.

In addition, you must have a cosigner (parent or legal guardian) and present proof of completion of a driver education course that meets or exceeds Ohio's requirements. To determine if your driver education course will qualify, visit a Driver License Exam Station with your current driver license and original driver training certificate of completion.

If it is determined that the driver training you completed meets Ohio requirements, you will be permitted to complete testing for your license. Your original documents will be returned to you.

Upon successful completion of the vision screening, the examiner will issue you a customer key number. You must take the customer key number to a license agency along with your out-of-state driver license, proof of residence in Ohio and proof of legal presence in the US. Acceptable documents can be viewed on our website at <a href="https://www.bmv.ohio.gov">www.bmv.ohio.gov</a>. The staff at the license agency will ask you to surrender your out-of-state license, and they will issue your Ohio driver license.

## First-Time Driver or Expired Driver License

If you are a first-time driver or your previous driver license has expired, you will be required to take a vision screening and knowledge test at a Driver License Exam Station and purchase a Temporary Instructional Permit ID Card (TIPIC) from a license agency. Proof of full legal name, date of birth, citizenship/legal presence, Social Security number and residential street address is required to obtain the TIPIC. A list of acceptable documents can be found in the Digest of Motor Vehicle Laws and online at www.bmv.ohio.gov.

## Title, Registration and License Plates

If you own a vehicle, you will need to have it inspected. The purpose is to avoid registration of stolen vehicles. A vehicle can be inspected at all license agencies, some County Clerk of Courts offices, as well as many car dealerships. If going to a licensed Ohio dealership, please call ahead and ask for the service department.

The inspection of your vehicle will verify the make, model, body type and manufacturer's serial number or vehicle identification number. You will be given the completed inspection form.

There is a \$3.50 fee to the dealer or license agency and a \$1.50 fee to be collected at your next stop, the auto title office.

#### Next, follow this checklist:

- ✓ Go to any Clerk of Courts Office Auto Title Office. Find the location in the county government section of your telephone book, under "Clerk of Courts, Auto Title Department," or visit www.bmv.ohio.gov under Branch Office Locations, Title Offices.
- ✓ If your vehicle has two owners, both must be present unless you get a notarized power of attorney for the one who cannot come to the title office.
- ✓ If you have a lien on your car, you will have to request that your original title is sent directly to the title office so the lien can be recorded on the Ohio title.
- ✓ You will need to phone the Clerk of Courts to determine the charge for your title transfer. If sales tax is due, it will be collected before the title is issued. The title transfer must be paid for in cash or check.
- ✓ If you lease a car, contact your leasing agency to find out how you should handle the title transfer. It varies from company to company.

✓ Now it's off to the license agency to get your new license plates. To register your vehicle in Ohio, you must present your new Ohio title (or Memorandum of Title if your car has a lien) and present your Ohio ID card or proof of your Social Security number.

The license agency will collect the proper registration fees depending on when you purchase your plates, what taxing district you reside in, and your birthdate. For passenger vehicles and non-commercial trucks, the cost of one year of registration will range from \$35 to \$150. Again, as with your title, all legal owners of the vehicle must be present or provide a power of attorney or an Authorization to Register Form (BMV 5736).

Listed here are some of Ohio's motor vehicle laws that may differ from other states' laws.

Safety Belts

Ohio's mandatory safety belt usage law requires drivers and front-seat occupants of most passenger vehicles to wear their safety belts whenever they drive or ride in a motor vehicle on Ohio's roadways. If you are a driver under 18 years of age, all occupants, in both front and back seats, must wear safety belts while operating on Ohio's roadways.

This law exempts from compliance:

- 1. Children already covered by the child safety restraint law.
- Persons operating vehicles to deliver mail or newspapers for home delivery.
- Persons who carry an affidavit from their physician describing any medical conditions which preclude safety belt use.
- Persons in vehicles manufactured before 1966. Persons in vehicles equipped with airbags are not exempt from the safety belt law.

#### Child Restraint Law

Any child who is less than four years of age or weighs less than 40 pounds is required to use a child safety restraint that meets federal motor vehicle standards.

Ohio law also requires children ages 4-8 being transported in a motor vehicle to be properly restrained in a booster seat.

Ohio law also requires children ages 8-15 being transported in a motor vehicle to be properly restrained in a seat belt.

Window Tinting

The acceptable percentages of light transmission for motor vehicles are as follows: For the windshield, the tinting must allow 70 percent light transmission; for windows to the left and right of the driver, the tinting must allow 50 percent light transmission, plus or minus three percent.

Use of Earphones

The use of earphones while driving a motor vehicle is illegal, except for motorcycle operators for communication purposes.

License Plates Display

Two license plates are required for all cars, trucks and motor homes.

Registration

License plates expire on the registrant's birthday unless the vehicle is titled to a company or a lease, then it expires on the 20th of the designated month. A late fee of \$10 is applied if a registration is renewed after 30 days of the expiration date, not including Sundays or State Holidays. Most registrations can be renewed at a Deputy Registrar, by mail, or at www.OPLATES.com. Update your address at www.OPLATES.com or by filling out a Change of Address form (BMV 5756) at any local Deputy Registrar.

#### Nonresidents

A nonresident may operate a vehicle without Ohio registration as long as the state or country they are from provides reciprocal privileges.

Nonresident military personnel may use their home state driver license. Family members must obtain an Ohio license.

In order to obtain an Ohio driver license or ID you must prove your full legal name, date of birth, citizenship/legal presence, Social Security number and residential street address. Please visit our website at <a href="https://www.bmv.ohio.gov">www.bmv.ohio.gov</a> for a list of acceptable documents.

Motorized Bicycle License

A motorized bicycle license may be issued to any person 14 years of age and older who passes prescribed vision, written and skill tests.

#### Driver License

Individual driver licenses are valid for four years and expire on your birthday. There is no grace period. Commercial Driver Licenses are required for operators of a commercial motor vehicle.

Alcoholic Beverages

An open alcoholic beverage container in a vehicle is prohibited.

#### Radar

State law does not require the posting of radar enforcement. Radar detectors are legal, except in commercial vehicles but not recommended.

#### Studded Tires

Studded tires are permitted from November 1 to April 15.

Open Cargo Law

Riding in the back of an open cargo storage area of a truck or trailer traveling over 25 miles per hour is illegal for persons under age 16.

Camping

Camping in rest areas is prohibited.

#### BAC

All drivers can be charged with driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol if their blood alcohol concentration (BAC) is .08 percent or higher. Drivers under age 21 with a BAC level of .02 percent or more but less than .08 percent can also face penalties under a charge called Operating a Vehicle after Underage Alcohol Consumption (OVUAC). Commercial Drivers can be charged with OVI for a BAC level of .04 or higher.

#### Helmets

Motorcycle helmets are recommended but not required by law except for those under 18 years of age, or those who have held a motorcycle license or endorsement for less than one year. Protective goggles or glasses or a wind screen are required.

Motorcycles

Riding without a valid motorcycle license, endorsement or temporary permit is against the law. To be licensed, 16- and 17-year-olds must show proof of completing a driver education course and a motorcycle safety education course before they are eligible to take the on-cycle test at a driver exam station. For more information, call 1-800-83-RIDER. Cabenclosed motorcycles do not require an endorsement.

#### Title

An Ohio Certificate of Title is required for all registered vehicles except mopeds, as well as trailers that weigh under 4,000 lbs.

#### Disabled Parking Areas

Persons with disabilities can obtain license plates or a window placard with a symbol on them allowing parking in the disabled parking areas. Applications are available through the Bureau of Motor Vehicles. For more information, call (614) 752-7800.

## Financial Responsibility Law

No one can operate a motor vehicle without proof of insurance. To comply with the law, liability coverage of \$25,000-\$50,000 for personal injury or death and \$25,000 for property damage is required.

#### Motor Vehicle Crash Report (BMV 3303)

When involved in a crash that causes injuries or more than \$400 in damage, and the other party is uninsured, you may file a motor vehicle crash report within six months from the date of accident. These forms are available online at <a href="https://www.bmv.ohio.gov/bmv\_forms.stm">www.bmv.ohio.gov/bmv\_forms.stm</a>, from law enforcement, your insurance agent or the BMV. For more information, call (614) 752-7500.

## ES Check Certificate

The Automobile Inspection and Maintenance program is a pollution-control inspection program to increase the air quality in certain counties in Ohio. Those counties are:

Cuyahoga

Geauga

Lake

Lorain

Medina

**Portage** 

**Summit** 

An E√Check Certificate may be required before motor vehicles can be registered in these counties. For further information about the E√Check program, call 1-800-CAR-TEST.

## One-Stop Shops

Certain license agencies are called one-stop shops where title, licensing and examination station services are provided on or adjacent to the license agency premises.

City

#### **One-stop Locations:**

County

County	<u>City</u>
Allen	Lima
	Jefferson
	Athens
	Urbana
	Batavia
	Bucyrus
	Parma
	Greenville
	Delaware
	Lancaster
Franklin	Columbus
	Wauseon
Gallia	Gallipolis
	Xenia
	Cambridge
Hancock	Findlay
Jackson	Jackson
Knox	Mt. Vernon
	Painesvillle
Licking	Newark
Logan	Bellefontaine
Lucas	Toledo (Heatherdowns)
Marion	Marion
Medina	Medina
Mercer	Celina
Miami	Troy Huber Heights
Montgomery	Huber Heights
Pickaway	Circleville
	Ravenna
Preble	Eaton
Ross	Chillicothe
Sandusky	Fremont
Shelby	Sidney North Canton
Stark	North Canton
Union	Marysville
Warren	Lebanon
Washington	Marietta
	Bryan
	Bowling Green
	9

## Don't Leave Home Without These Items!

- Your vehicle's original title (or memorandum of title if vehicle has a lien)
- Two notarized powers of attorney if your vehicle has two owners but only one can make the rounds
- Your vehicle's loan contract (if you have a lien on it)
- One picture ID (your current driver license) and one other document with your Social Security number on it
- Proof of driver education (if under the age of 18)
- A cosigner for drivers under 18 (cosigner needs Ohio driver license/ID card or proof of name, date of birth, citizenship/legal presence,Social Security number and residential street address)
- Proof of your full legal name, date of birth, Social Security number, Ohio street address and legal presence in the US. If you need to obtain a temporary permit, call ahead for a list of acceptable documents or check our website at www.bmv.ohio.gov.

You're now officially an Ohio driver!

Welcome to Ohio, drive safely and buckle up!

## Ohio Department of Public Safety P. O. Box 182081 Columbus, OH 43218-2081





www.publicsafety.ohio.gov BMV 3741 6/15 [760-1282]